Decisions concerning the authorisation of general, vocational and higher education institutions are made by the Authorisation Councils for General, Vocational and Higher Education institutions the members of which are appointed and dismissed by the Prime Minister of Georgia on the proposal of the Ministry. Each Council consists of 9 members the term of office of which constitutes one year. The members of the Authorisation Council could not be public officials. The responsibilities of the councils are envisaged by the authorisation charter, which guarantees the independent functioning of the councils from educational and state institutions.


Members of Authorisation Council for Higher Educational Institutions:


Irina Khantadze – Executive Director, N(N)LE – Centre for Training and Consultancy, Chairperson of the Council;


Tinatin Bregvadze - South Caucasus Regional Manager, Academic Fellowship Program, N(N)LE – Open Society Georgia Foundation, Deputy Chairperson of the Council; 


Lika Katamadze – Member, N(N)LE – Student Rights League of Georgia, Council Secretary;


Nino Chinchaladze - Executive Director, N(N)LE – Center for International Education;


Irine Kvakhadze - Deputy Executive Director, N(N)LE – Business Association of Georgia; 


Tamar Zaalishvili - Higher Education Expert, Invited Lecturer, East European Teaching University Ltd.;


David Aprasidze – Full Professor, Head of Administration (Chancellor), LEPL – Ilia State University;


Boris Lezhava – Dean of Caucasus School of Business, Caucasus University Ltd.; 


Nino Sozashvili - Associate Professor, LEPL – Iakob Gogebashvili Telavi State University.




Members of Authorisation Council for Vocational Educational Institutions: 



Ketevan Jaqeli – Director, LEPL – Zurab Zhvania Public Administration School; Chairperson of the Council;


Saba Sarishvili - Vocational Education Expert (Chemonics International), Deputy Chairperson of the Council; 


Liana Zambakhidze – Deputy Head of Legal Department; A Corporation of Public Law – Georgian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Council Secretary;

Elguja Meladze – President, N(N)LE – Georgian Employers’ Association;


Maia Chikhladze – President, N(N)LE – Private Colleges Association of Georgia; Deputy Director, Community College “Panacea” Ltd.


Mamia Janjalia – Deputy Head, LEPL – Education Management Information System (EMIS);  


Irakli Petriashvili – Chairperson, Georgian Trade Unions Confederation (GTUC)


Marika Shioshvili – Cross-Sectoral Projects and IDP Housing Team Leader, (NORC (North Opinion Research Center) at the University of Chicago; USAID / New Economic Opportunities Initiative (NEO);


Nikoloz Chachkhiani - Vocational Education Expert (Delloitte)




Members of Authorisation Council for General Education Institutions:
Nino Kutateladze – Education Specialist, the World Bank; Chairperson of the Council;
Revaz Apkhazava – Executive Director, N(N)LE – International Institute for Education Policy, Planning and Management (EPPM); Deputy Chairperson of the Council;

Maia Maghlakelidze - Member, N(N)LE – Georgian Library Association, Council Secretary;

Lasha Mkurnalidze - Executive Director, N(N)LE – "School-Family-Society" Association;

Nato Kobuladze - Inclusive Education Expert; Associate professor, LEPL – Akaki Tsereteli State University;

Indira Amiranashvili – Deputy Chief of Party, Georgia Primary Education Project (USAID/G-PriEd);

Tamar Tsirekidze - Head of Service Department, N(N)LE – Center for Training and Consultancy (CTC);

Manana Ratiani - Expert-Consultant, LEPL – National Center for Teacher Professional Development;

Pavle Tvaliashvili - General Education Expert; Director, Education and Management Team Ltd.